Parent Report Card

In the great dice game of life, I won the parent lottery.  I had audaciously awesome parents who told me every day that they loved me, that I was beautiful, and capable of anything I put my mind to.  Like most kids, I thought my parents were crazy.  But I also thought that if they could be fooled, it was possible that someday I might find one other person capable of similar delusions.  Lucky for me, I found just the man: a wonderfully supportive and loving spouse.  Now we are raising two kids together, and of course the expectations I have for my own parenting are impossibly high.  I’m measuring against the standard of audaciously awesome.  But here’s the thing: my only audience is my kids.  So it really doesn’t matter what the world’s standard is, or what the grandparents or neighbors or people at the park think.  What matters is what my kids think, measured against the standard that I set.

A few years ago, when my children were nine and twelve, I developed a parent report card.  Here’s my daughter’s review from last year.

Offering this report card to my kids in effect told them what I think my job description is.  And it gave them a chance to say how they think I’m doing.  Clearly I have some things to work on– no surprise there.  Now I know where to focus my efforts.   What do you want to be measured on?  And by whom?

Here’s a blank version to use as a starter for crafting your own report card. Please consider sharing what you create so we can continue to learn from each other.   Create your own parent report card

© May 2012 by Pam Daniels.  All rights reserved.

9 Comments

  1. Love it! I always tell my clients that if your children think you are doing everything right….you’re not doing something right! There is a fine balance to providing kids what they need and what they want, but a child who feels heard-even when they do not always get what they want-is a lucky child! Too bad the schools don’t let the kids grade the teachers like this.

    Reply

  2. This is amazing–you should copyright it and share as widely as possible. I am wondering at what age this is appropriate but I know my 5 year-old (when he learns how to read and write) would relish the opportunity to rate his parents. Thank you for this pearl of wisdom.

    Reply

  3. What an inspired idea! It’s an empowering tool for kids, and a great way to encourage and enrich family communication. Thank you for sharing the idea…and your report card!

    Reply

  4. Such a wonderful way to empower and promote constructive communication! Thank you for sharing Pam!

    Reply

    1. Sure! I’ll send you the Word version in a separate e-mail and see if I can include it on the post too. I’d love to see what you come up with and add it to my blog.

      Reply

      1. you are awesome! thank you.. i will definitely let you know. We are a very small grass roots group at the moment but i’m always looking for meaningful tools to share. This is very good and i’m going to use it myself.. I love how your daughter modified your original with the added column.. 🙂 thanks again!

Leave a Reply

